Fauré | Piano Quartet

Viviane Hagner, Emma Wernig, Mikayel Hakhnazaryan, Yannick Rafalimanana


'It has always been a dream of mine to organize a concert series in my direct neighborhood, for the locals. I have been living in Weissensee since 4 years and I love my Kiez; it felt only natural to bring great music here. Inspired by the Parisian Salons in France, the Schubertiade in Vienna in the 19th century, or more recently Groupmuse in the US or the Kiez Treff culture in Germany (aka Bizet Kietz-Treff ), Yannick’s Salon aims to bring together local community and young audience around great art, specifically Chamber Music masterpieces. The events will be as social as they are musical with a greater connection between the performers and the audience. The atmosphere will be convivial, beers will be around and the dresscode relaxed. This project wouldn’t be possible without help and I am happy and proud to collaborate on this endeavor with Bildungs- und Kulturzentrum Peter Edel, Culiner Creative Circle, Amanda Group, Neustart Kultur and my dear C. Bechstein.'

Yannick Rafalimanana

Concert program

Gabriel Fauré's Piano Quartet No. 1, in C minor, Op. 15, is one of the two chamber works he wrote for the conventional piano quartet combination of piano, violin, viola and cello. Despite being in a minor key it is predominantly positive in tone, though with some hints in the slow movement of the emotional turmoil of Fauré's life at the time of the composition. The first piano quartet is considered one of the three masterpieces of his youth, along with the first violin sonata and the Ballade in F sharp major.

This work is in four movements:
I. Allegro molto moderato
II. Scherzo, Allegro vivo
III. Adagio
IV. Allegro molto

Viviane Hagner, violin
Emma Wermig, viola
Mikayel Hakhnazaryan, cello
Yannick Rafalimanana, piano

32:56 min 2023