Debussy | Cello Sonata

Mikayel Hakhnazaryan, Yannick Rafalimanana


'It has always been a dream of mine to organize a concert series in my direct neighborhood, for the locals. I have been living in Weissensee since 4 years and I love my Kiez; it felt only natural to bring great music here. Inspired by the Parisian Salons in France, the Schubertiade in Vienna in the 19th century, or more recently Groupmuse in the US or the Kiez Treff culture in Germany (aka Bizet Kietz-Treff ), Yannick’s Salon aims to bring together local community and young audience around great art, specifically Chamber Music masterpieces. The events will be as social as they are musical with a greater connection between the performers and the audience. The atmosphere will be convivial, beers will be around and the dresscode relaxed. This project wouldn’t be possible without help and I am happy and proud to collaborate on this endeavor with Bildungs- und Kulturzentrum Peter Edel, Culiner Creative Circle, Amanda Group, Neustart Kultur and my dear C. Bechstein.'

Yannick Rafalimanana

Concert program

The Cello Sonata, L. 135, is a sonata for cello and piano by Claude Debussy. It was part of his project Six sonatas for various instruments to compose six sonatas for different instruments. It consists of three movements: Prologue, Sérénade and Finale. It was composed and published in 1915.

This work is in three movements:
I. Prologue: Lent, sostenuto e molto risoluto
II. Sérénade: Modérément animé
III. Finale: Animé, léger et nerveux

Mikayel Hakhnazaryan, cello
Yannick Rafalimanana, piano

11:42 min 2023